The Edward H. Bean Awards

The Edward H. Bean Award was established by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA) in September, 1956, honoring the first director of Chicago’s Brookfield Zoo. The AZA presents this award “in recognition of efforts by Institution, Related Facility, and International Facility members in the management and husbandry of various animal species in their care.”

1994: Panthera tigris
2000: American pronghorn
2015: Tiger Conservation


AZA International Conservation Awards

The International Conservation Award is presented each year by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums for recognition of outstanding dedication to international conservation issues and development of natural resources.

1993: Indonesian Conservation Strategy for Sumatran Tigers
1995: Adopt-A-Park Program in Indonesia
1998: The Sumatran Tiger Project
2003: The AZA Significant Achievement in North American Conservation Award
2004: The Sumatran Tiger Conservation Program
2013: Black Rhino Conservation


Other Awards
1999: CITES Tiger Task Team Commendation
1999: 21st Century Tiger Conservation Award
2002: International Association of Avian Trainers and Educators Award