The Minnesota Zoo is committed to supporting sustainable seafood and freshwater choices to help protect our environment. The goal of our sustainable seafood program is to increase the availability of sustainable seafood in the Twin Cities and increase awareness of sustainable seafood issues throughout Minnesota.

What is sustainable seafood?

Sustainable seafood is defined as seafood that is either wild caught or farm raised that cannot only sustain current populations, but thrive over the long term. The methods by which the seafood is harvested or raised must not cause undue harm to their natural ecosystems. The Minnesota Zoo strongly believes that embracing the use of sustainable seafood is one of the best ways we can all contribute to our oceans’ health.

Download the Seafood Watch Wallet Card

The Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch program creates science-based recommendations that help consumers and businesses make ocean-friendly seafood choices. Download and carry one of these pocket guides with you and share it with others to help spread the word.
Seafood Watch Sustainable Seafood Guide 
Seafood Watch Sushi Guide

Seafood Watch Apps for Android and iPhone

Get up-to-date recommendations for ocean-friendly seafood and sushi with this app.

Check out our Fish Smart Facebook page and Twitter page

Helpful Links

Monterey Bay Aquarium’s Seafood Watch
Vancouver Aquarium’s Ocean Wise program
Marine Stewardship Council (MSC)

Fish Smart Restaurant Partners
Hells Kitchen Tongue in Cheek Kyatchi_logo
Barbette gigis Pats Tap
Bryant Lake Bowl RedStag smack_shack_logo
Meritage Luci Ancora Ristorante Luci’s
SeaChangeLogoFinal masu_logo Lancer
Oceanaire ButcherandBoar the_anchor_fish__chips
Lucias Corner Table Sanctuary
WA Frost Board8 WorldStreetKitchen
French Meadow BluestemLogo TinyDiner
Icehouse Marin Mill Valley Kitchen
Terra Waconia_new Third Bird  Nigthingale

 

This section is for chefs and seafood buyers. In the Tackle Box you will find all the tools needed to ensure that you make informed decisions when purchasing and sourcing sustainable seafood. Whether it is Fish Choice’s Sustainable Seafood calculator, Green Chefs, Blue Seas online training course, or a link to Seafood Watch ratings and wallet cards, this is the place you will find all the tools to be successful. “

Fish of the Month

The Minnesota Zoo’s Fish Smart program is proud to partner with Whole Foods Markets of Minnesota on the Fish Of The Month program. Fish Of The Month empowers consumers to go to the market and buy sustainable seafood to enjoy at home. Whole Foods Market will carry each monthly selection at their stores in Minnesota. Their expert fishmongers will be able to answer all of your questions not only about sustainability, but the best ways to prepare each fish.

Month Fish Recipe Title Recipe Link
January Cod Baked & Breaded Cod http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipe/baked-breaded-cod
February MSC Certified Chilean Sea Bass Chilean Sea Bass with Grilled Mango Salsa http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipe/chilean-sea-bass-grilled-mango-salsa
March Clams Linquine with Clams http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipe/linguine-white-clam-sauce
April Barramundi Lemongrass Steamed Barramundi http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipe/lemongrass-steamed-barramundi
May Mussels Mediterranean Mussels http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipe/mediterranean-mussels
June Halibut Roasted Halibut Steaks with Spinach and quinoa pilaf http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipe/roasted-halibut-steaks-spinach-quinoa-pilaf
July Albacore Tuna Tuna & Piquillo Peppers http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipe/tuna-and-piquillo-pepper-tapas
August Swordfish Suya Swordfish http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipe/suya-swordfish
September Salmon Salmon Wellington http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipe/salmon-wellington
October Scallops Bacon Wrapped, Stuffed Sea Scallops http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipe/bacon-wrapped-stuffed-sea-scallops
November Arctic Char Arctic Char with Butternut Squash & Apple Farro http://youtu.be/9Ei6CLotQWA
December Oysters Raw Oysters with Classic Mignonette http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipe/raw-oysters-classic-mignonette-garnish